Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
4

“I THINK WE’RE GONNA FEEL IT IN HERE WHEN WE WATCH THEM DISINTEGRATE”

ACTOR/PRODUCER MARJORIE MARCELLUS ON THE CREATIVE DICHOTOMIES OF “THE GREAT DIVIDE”
4

Today’s profile puts the spotlight on the delightful Marjorie Marcellus; one of my best friends in a group made entirely out of people I love. Marjorie was the first to do a scene with me when I joined The Actor’s Lab, making me feel thoroughly welcome (utter greenhorn that I was). And we’ve been cheerfully bouncing creative risks off each other ever since.

In The Great Divide, she plays Eleanor McMann, the eldest daughter of Granny Fanny, the recently-deceased “richest old lady in the world”. Eleanor’s also the author of eleven ostensibly New Age “self-help” books, though there’s serious doubt as to whether they’ve actually ever helped anyone, herself included. With her head in the clouds and (almost) all her skeletons in the closet, she’s a real piece of work. And Marjorie plays her to perfection.

Meanwhile – about halfway through the pre-production process – she also jumped onboard the production team with Sarah Brody Webb and myself, doing everything from seriously helping raise the funds to visually designing the production to a million other little essentials in between. 

Needless to say, this film would not have happened without her. Plus, she’s soooo much fun to watch!  

So please enjoy this 60-second peek inside her delightful mind!

Discussion about this podcast